Back to series

Listen or Download this Audio Resource.

Seven Deadly Sins - Seriously?

The Seven Deadly Sins—are they taken seriously? Most people do not take these sins seriously and fail to understand that there are repercussions for continuation of these sins.

The “Seven:”

1. Gluttony
2. Lust
3. Wrath
4. Greed
5. Envy (Dejection)
6. Sloth
7. Pride (Vainglory)

The capital for these seven deadly sins are;

  • The Tree of Vices: Roots and Fruits
  • Augustine: Happiness Imitators & Disordered Loves

Vices are hard habits to break.  Learn more in this six part series from Rebecca DeYoung.

This resource is part of a series on Glittering Vices. Click here to listen to the full series

Click the PDF download button to read or download the PDF for this resource.

Rebecca DeYoung

Rebecca DeYoung, Professor of Philosophy at Calvin College in Michigan, where she has taught since 1998. She received her MA and PhD from the University of Notre Dame and specializes in research about the seven deadly sins and spiritual formation. She speaks on moral and spiritual life, has authored several books including Glittering Vices, Aquinas’ Ethics and Vainglory.


COPYRIGHT: This publication is published by C.S. Lewis Institute; 8001 Braddock Road, Suite 301; Springfield, VA 22151. Portions of the publication may be reproduced for noncommercial, local church or ministry use without prior permission. Electronic copies of the PDF files may be duplicated and transmitted via e-mail for personal and church use. Articles may not be modified without prior written permission of the Institute. For questions, contact the Institute: 703.914.5602 or email us.

Print your tickets